The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad

The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad is a featured Post that I will post every week.  I love baking yet I also know that as an individual that has Fibromyalgia, I have intolerances.  So I am learning to tweak my favorite recipes so that you and I can enjoy them and not worry about our intolerances.  Not only to I have intolerances to Wheat and Dairy, Sugar is also a problem for me.  People that have Fibromyalgia have more of a tendency to binge on sugar.  It necessarily doesn’t matter what it is it is the actual sugar we crave.  Someone who does not have this issue will crave Ice Cream or a certain cookie, Pie etc.  We will take anything that has sugar and once we ingest it we are just not responsible for how much of it we eat!  I have found with a sugar substitute I do not have that craving.  I do have control over limiting myself. I can have them sit on the counter and not need to eat them all!

This recipe is definitely a holiday favorite.  Spiced up a bit, it is definitely not for children.  You will love this recipe by Jessica Follen fro Waunakee, WI.  I tweaked it a bit to make it Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Mostly Sugar Free.

Triple Ginger Gingersnaps

2/3 Cup Earth Balance Vegan Spread (Comes in Cubes)

1/2 Cup Splenda Brown Sugar it is 50/50

1/4 cup Molasses

1 Egg

2 tsp minced fresh gingerroot

1 3/4 Cup Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

3 tsp ground ginger

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp find sea salt or kosher salt

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground cloves

3 Tbsp. crystallized ginger finely chopped

1/4 cup Sugar

1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1. In a large bowl, cream vegan spread and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the molasses, egg and fresh ginger.

2. Combine the flours, ground ginger, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cloves; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in crystallized ginger.  Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour or until easy to handle.  You will also need to refrigerate between baking batches as it gets hard to handle more quickly from using the vegan spread.

3.  In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon.  Shape dough into 1 inch balls; roll in sugar mixture.  Place 3 inches apart on parchment paper lined baking sheets.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until set.  Cool for 2 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.  Store in an air tight container.  These cookies are light and melt in your mouth so the break easy.  Store them in layers separated by parchment paper.

Enjoy!!!  Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad

Leave a Reply

