The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad.

As many of you know from the past few weeks of “The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad”, I have an intolerance to Genetically altered grains. Its a pretty severe one as well. So to make things easier on myself I just eat Gluten Free products as most Gluten Free Products do not have Wheat in them.

I love baking and I have begun to convert a lot of my favorite recipes. It is pretty expensive to purchase the Gluten Free All Purpose Flour Mix. So what I started doing was buying the ingredients of the Flour Mix in bulk and have been making my own. Bob’s Red Mill has a website and I have found that you can buy it in bulk there and it is very good quality. I store my flours in the freezer and then bring them down to room temp when I am ready to make my mixes. I make it in about 9 to 10 cup quantities and store it in a container. It will stay fresh in an airtight container for 30 days or in the freezer indefinitely. I usually use what I have mixed within 30 days.

Gluten Free all Purpose Flour

4 cups white rice flour
2 cups brown rice flour
2 cups tapioca flour or tapioca starch
1 cup potato starch

In a really large bowl combine all the ingredients. Use a Whisk to to mix the ingredients. Use a wooden spoon to fold ingredients from the bottom into the top. Use the Whisk again. Repeat this a few more times.

You can store the flour in an airtight container at room temperature for 30 days or in the freezer indefinitely. If you decide like I do to keep it in the freezer make sure to bring to room temperature before you use it.

Make sure to lightly stir the flours before each use. Make sure to level off your measurement. No dumping allowed. With this sort of baking it is extremely important to be accurate.

In the next flour mixture I will just list the ingredients as the directions are the same.

Gluten Free Brown Rice Flour Blend

5 cups brown rice flour
2.5 cups tapioca flour or tapioca starch
1.5 potato starch

One more hint I would like to pass on. A friend of mine turned me on to this hint. When baking cakes or breads subtract 1/4 cup of Flour mix and add 1/4 cup of Almond Flour. This will help give the cakes and quick breads that wonderful texture you are used to.

Have fun converting your favorite recipes into gluten free recipes. You will be glad you did!!!

Leave a Reply

