The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad

This Sugar Cookie Recipe is Gluten Free.  It is from the Website/Blog Called Rolling Out Dough.  http://www.Rollingoutdough.com  It is an amazing Site that is for sure.  I found it on Pintrest and would like to share it all with you.  The great thing about Sugar Cookies is that you can change it as well as add your own touches to it.  I did exactly that.  So enjoy and let me know what you think. You can also make this recipe with Dairy Subtitutes as well as Sugar Substitute.

2 cups All Purpose Gluten Free Flour

3/4 tsp Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Salt

1/2 cup fine Granulated Sugar or if you want to go sugar free use a sugar substitute that is a 1:1 ratio.

4 Tblsp of Powdered Sugar

8 Tblsp of Unsalted Butter (it should be at room temp.  You may also use a Vegan Spread that is in stick form.  Again it should be at room temp.).

1 tsp. Xanthan Gum – Look at the ingredients of your Flour Mix.  If it has Xanthan Gum in it do not add.

1 Large egg, beaten, also needs to be at room temp.

1/2 tsp pure Vanilla Extract

1 large handful pulverized Peppermints.

1 bag Hershey’s Peppermint Kisses.  Unwraped

Small amount of Dark Chocolate Gouache thinned to Drizzle over Cookies

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350

Mix all the Dry ingredients and blend well until combined.  Add egg, butter, vanilla, and pulverized peppermints until dough is well blended and thick.

Take large amount of dough and shape and work into dough with your hands and form dough into a ball.  Put cookie dough into spoonfuls leaving one inch between cookies.

Bake for about 9-11 minutes until set.  Immediately add a Kiss in the middle of each cookie.  Let cookies cool on sheet until they set.  Approx. 5 minutes.  Then transfer to the cooling racks.  Let them cool completely on the cooling racks.  This will take several hours as the Kiss takes a long time to set after melting.

Take the thinned Ganache and drizzle over the cookies.  Serve or store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!!  Please share with me your thoughts.

This will become a regular Friday Feature.

3 thoughts on “The Journey Doesn’t Have To Taste Bad

  1. Oh, those look so good. I also have fibromyalgia, and a gluten-free vegetarian diet has helped to relieve many of the symptoms. I use a Betty Crocker GF CC COOIE MIX when I make cookies for an event. I can’t make them for myself because I would eat the entire batch and the glycemic load would bring back the inflammation. I never though of adding crushed peppermints though. I came here because of your gratitude post, which I also enjoyed, but I have to say the cookies drew my attention. Thanks for posting. hugs, gerry

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Gerry! I will say that it has been a great Blessing for me to be able to hook up with others who have FM or other Chronic Pain issues. We need each other. It is nice to have others who understand. Welcome glad your here. The Journey Doesnt Have to Taste Bad is a Weekly Feature. I also will be starting a Tuesday Treasures this week. Have a good day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

